Rafik

Radical, fundamentalist, different – professionals in contact

Specialists in the normal structures of child and youth welfare regularly come into contact with children from homes that are religiously radicalized, fundamentalist or undemocratically oriented. Or they come into contact with children and young people who are already radicalized themselves. These professionals are often faced with the conflictual question of how they should behave and position themselves. Their actions and statements as representatives of authorities or so-called "public" aid interact with the personal perceptions of the people concerned and become interdependent.

The RaFiK project intends to investigate these attitudes and orientations of action in dealing with different types of extremism and undemocratic milieus - and how professionals balance practical and ethical dilemmas in the context of child welfare and freedom of religion or opinion.

Interdisciplinary focus groups involving related fields (school, family courts, disability assistance, police, child and youth psychiatry) discuss whether and how they deal with religious or political issues, whether and how they explicitly express their own views, and when and how they draw on the discourse and approaches of experts in the field of prevention of radicalization. The discussions should enable a comparison with approaches and attitudes to different forms of extremism.

The research project aims to use the interdisciplinary findings to build bridges between the specialized field of working with extremism and the regulatory structures. Research findings and a thesis paper derived from them are to be discussed in a broad-based process among the specialist public of the various groups of actors and transferred into processes in which recommendations for action are drawn up and structures established.

Duration

March 2019 to February 2022

In cooperation with

Logo SOCLES

Funding

Logo Demokratie Leben!

Rafik

Radikal, fundamentalistisch, anders – Fachkräfte im Kontakt (RaFiK)

Fachkräfte in den Regelstrukturen der Kinder- und Jugendhilfe kommen regelmäßig in Kontakt mit Kindern aus religiös radikalisierten oder fundamentalistisch bzw. undemokratisch orientierten Elternhäusern; oder sie treffen auf bereits selbst radikalisierte Kinder und Jugendliche. Diese Fachkräfte stehen vor der oft konflikthaften Frage, wie sie sich verhalten und positionieren sollen. Denn ihre Handlungen und Aussagen als Repräsentant*innen von Behörden oder sog. „öffentlichen“ Hilfen treten mit den persönlichen Wahrnehmungen der Betroffenen in schwer kalkulierbare Wechselwirkungen.

Erforschung von Einstellungen und Handlungsorientierungen

Mit dem Projekt RaFiK wollten cultures interactive e.V., SOCLES und das Deutsche Jugendinstitut mehr erfahren über Einstellungen und Handlungsorientierungen im Umgang mit verschiedenen Arten von Extremismus und undemokratischen Milieus – sowie darüber, wie Fachkräfte praktische und ethische Dilemmata im Kontext von Kindeswohl und Religions- bzw. Meinungsfreiheit ausbalancieren.

Interdisziplinäre Fokusgruppen mit Beteiligung angrenzender Bereiche (Schule, Familiengerichte, Behindertenhilfe, Polizei, Kinder- und Jugendpsychiatrie) haben diskutiert, ob und wie sie sich der religiösen oder politischen Themen annehmen, ob und wie sie ihre eigenen Sichtweisen ausdrücklich zur Sprache bringen, wann und wie sie in ihrem Vorgehen auf den Diskurs und die Handlungsansätze von Expert*innen im Themenfeld Radikalisierungsprävention zurückgreifen. Diese Diskussionen haben einen Vergleich mit Vorgehensweisen und Einstellungen bei verschiedenen Formen von Extremismus ermöglicht.

Das Forschungsprojekt hatte zudem das Ziel, die interdisziplinär gewonnenen Erkenntnisse zum Brückenbau zwischen dem spezialisierten Feld der Arbeit mit Extremismus und den Regelstrukturen zu nutzen. Die Forschungsergebnisse und ein daraus abgeleitetes Thesenpapier wurden in der Fachöffentlichkeit der verschiedenen Akteursgruppen diskutiert.

Laufzeit

März 2019 bis Februar 2022

Kooperationspartner

Logo SOCLES

Förderung

Logo Demokratie Leben!