European Network for Non-Violence and Dialogue

 

The project “European Network of Non-violence and Dialogue” (ENND) was initiated by the NGO Partners for Democratic Change (PDCS), Bratislava, and started in August 2016. Its major goal is to promote nonviolent approaches to current value conflicts and to stimulate the process of collecting and sharing of what diverse CSOs have learned about third-party interventions, process-based tools for public debate, and the prevention of conflict, polarisation and violence in 7 different countries: Slovakia, Czech Republic, Poland, Hungary, Bulgaria, Romania and Germany.

The project focuses on conflicts that currently attract attention in European media and public, and, thus, stir public discussions, influence opinions and form values among citizens. Furthermore, the project aims to create a functional network that may become a counterbalance to tendencies in Central and Eastern Europe which diverge from the ideals and values of a united Europe. With this objective in mind, ENND also intends to form a network of civil society organisations and individuals who are capable of preventing and intervening in value conflicts, mitigating situations of polarisation and possibly also help de-radicalising individuals. Learning from each other, collecting tested conflict intervention approaches, supporting each other’s interventions, and organising public campaigns that promote common goals and values of human rights and European cooperation, are among the concrete aims of the ENND initiative.

Activities

In the first phase of the project, all partners prepared a mapping study on social value conflicts in the project countries and organisations and good practices to prevent their escalation, which can be downloaded here.

Based on this assessment, the project continued with the creation of the actual network, including activities, such as several network meetings, the development of the network’s common value statement (the ENND Manifesto), several international workshops on the exchange of good practices in preventing violence and group hatred, the production of short films presenting some of these approaches, and two international conferences.

Funding

This project titled Network for Non-violence and Dialoguewas co-financed by Europe for Citizens under the Strand 2: Civil Society Projects 2016 and has been implemented from 1.1.2017 to 30.06.2018. Information about the implemented activities with indicated numbers of involved countries and participants can be accessed here

European Network for Non-Violence and Dialogue (ENND)

Das Projekt „European Network for Non-violence and Dialogue“ (ENND) wurde von der slowakischen NGO „Partners for Democratic Change Slovakia“ (PDCS) im August 2016 initiiert. Sein Hauptziel ist es, einen gewaltfreien und dialogorientierten Umgang im Kontext aktueller Wertekonflikte zu fördern sowie den Austausch zwischen zivilgesellschaftlichen Organisationen zu ermöglichen, die bereits Erfahrungen in diesem Feld gesammelt und erfolgreiche Ansätze der Prävention von gesellschaftlichen Konflikten, Polarisierung und Gewalt entwickelt und erprobt haben. Am Projekt beteiligt sind zunächst Partner aus 7 Ländern: Slowakei, Tschechische Republik, Polen, Ungarn, Bulgarien, Rumänien und Deutschland.

Inhaltlich nimmt das Projekt jene Konflikte in den Blick, die in Europa derzeit verstärkt das Interesse der Medien und der Öffentlichkeit auf sich ziehen und dadurch öffentliche Diskussionen anregen sowie Meinungen und Wertvorstellungen der Menschen beeinflussen. Diesbezüglich arbeitet ENND darauf hin, ein aktives Netzwerk zu bilden, das ein Gegengewicht zur aktuellen Entwicklung insb. in Mittel- und Osteuropa bildet, wo sich große Teile der Politik und Gesellschaft von den Idealen und Werten der Europäischen Union entfernen. Das Netzwerk soll zivilgesellschaftliche Akteur*innen zusammenbringen, die dieser Tendenz mit Präventions- und Interventionsmaßnahmen, gewaltfreien Strategien im Umgang mit gesellschaftlicher Polarisierung und Ansätzen zur Deradikalisierung entgegenwirken wollen. Diesen Akteur*innen bietet ENND eine Plattform, um voneinander zu lernen, erprobte Ansätze zu sammeln und auszutauschen, sich gegenseitig zu unterstützen und Kampagnen zu organisieren, um demokratische und menschenrechtliche Haltungen gemeinsam zu fördern.

Maßnahmen

In der ersten Projektphase haben alle Partner eine Mapping-Studie erarbeitet, die eine Übersicht über Wertekonflikte sowie Organisationen und Ansätze zur Konfliktprävention und -bearbeitung in allen sieben im Projekt vertretenen Ländern gibt. Die Studie kann hier heruntergeladen werden.

Ausgehend von dieser Überblicksstudie wurde in einem zweiten Schritt gezielt das Netzwerk aufgebaut. Diese Netzwerkbildung umfasste verschiedene Aktivitäten, wie etwa Netzwerktreffen, die gemeinsame Entwicklung einer Wertebasis des Netzwerks (ENND-Manifesto), verschiedene Workshops zum internationalen Fachaustausch von guten Ansätzen der Prävention und Intervention, Kurzfilme über verschiedene Ansätze sowie zwei internationale Konferenzen.

Förderung

Das Projekt Network for Non-violence and Dialogue wurde kofinanziert von “Europe for Citizens under the Strand 2: Civil Society Projects 2016” und vom 1.1.2017 bis 30.06.2018 umgesetzt. Informationen zu den umgesetzten Maßnahmen mit Angaben zur Anzahl der beteiligten Länder und Teilnehmer*innen kann hier eingesehen werden.